Author Topic: 2 blown amps - learn from my mistakes  (Read 1849 times)

funkle

• Administrator
  • Fuze-Master
    • View Profile
2 blown amps - learn from my mistakes
« on: March 06, 2013, 12:05:39 PM »
Over the weekend, I was doing some work on the wall where my home theatre lives. Rerouting some wires & moving receptacles. I was rewiring a wall-mounted speaker jack which feeds the rear channel of my HT and the kitchen ceiling speakers. I was tired & forgot the receiver was on, and the Sonos Connect Amp, which is never really off, were both hooked up. I somehow shorted both amps together and a big poof of smoke came out of the sonos. Both of them them are fried. I've never done this before in my life, but managed to do 2 at once on Sunday. I have the receiver at a repair place - hopefully just a blown transistor & fuse. If it's major, the receiver which once cost $1000 can be replaced with a used one for $150 (the old heavy MIJ Dolby-D receivers are the best). Luckily Sonos has a liberal replacement program, and is selling me a new one at a quarter of retail.

I know not to do this, but I was tired and in a hurry and forgot to be careful. Please learn from my stupidity and always power off & unplug your amps before fiddling with the speaker wires.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2013, 12:26:12 PM by funkle »

Halfdim7

• Founding Member
  • Fuze-Master
  • Founder, Resident Noob
    • View Profile
Re: 2 blown amps - learn from my mistakes
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2013, 12:35:18 PM »
Ouch. Sorry to hear that. I used to live at a place with really unreliable wiring(to the point that I fully expected the walls to catch fire before I could get outta the dump). I didn't fry any stereo equipment, but my first-ever tube amp, a Vox AC4TV, stopped working after hardly any use whatsoever(I still need to get it fixed, but there are no suitable places near where I live, and I'm not even sure what's wrong).